About Me

Hi! I am Marta, a Polish girl who dreamt of an unconventional lifestyle and proved that dreams do come true! See the journey that got me to this point.

0
years


That's how long I have been living a nomadic lifestyle. Almost half of my life!

0
Thousand

Approximately how many photographs I took during my travels

0
kilometres

The distance I walked last year! I should thank my dog.

0
articles

It’s how many recounts of the adventures across the world you will find on my website

I never wanted a 'normal' lifestyle

A steady office job, a house in the suburbs, 2 kids and a dog? None of it ever sounded appealing to me (excluding the last part). What’s normal anyway? With each year passing I gain more lust for life and am excited about what adventures life will throw at me, so follow me!

My Storyline

2005

18 years old and straight out of high school I get on a plane to New York and start my 2,5 year long adventure as an Au Pair in America.

2008

I spend first half of 2008 attending German language school in Germany, then return to Poland to start my university degree in journalism.

2009-2011

I receive a grant to study abroad and spend the next two years living and studying in Potsdam in Germany and travel around Europe with my friends.

2011-2012

I finish my degree and with the money I've saved from working evenings and weekends, I go travelling around South America for 7 months.

2012-2014

I settle in Berlin naively thinking I got travelling out of my system, then one day a coworker introduces me to a "Working Holiday" youth exchange program.

2014-2018

I begin a 4 year long stint doing back to back working holidays across New Zealand, Australia and Canada. I start my blog which slowly turns into my career.

2018-2020

I return to Europe, purchase a campervan and spend three summer and autumn seasons exploring the Italian Dolomites and Norway.

Present day

I never plan further than 6 months in advance. For now I want to stay in Europe and keep exploring its mountainous regions.

Get to know me!

I am a minimalist

Experiences over possessions, that’s my life’s motto! Having too much stuff gives me anxiety. At one point in my life, right after I left New Zealand, all my belongings fit into a small backpack and a carry on suitcase! 

I am multilingual

I speak 4 languages, 3 of them fluently, however I always laugh to my friends, that I am not a native speaker of any of them. I grew up speaking Polish, but after living abroad for half of my life my Polish suffered greatly. Nowadays I feel the most comfortable speaking English. 

I am a dog mum...

…and not afraid to admit it. For a long time I wanted a dog, but travels always got in the way. At the beginning of 2020 I finally took the leap! Nowadays my dog Jasper travels with me everywhere and he is the best hiking companion. Yes having a dog comes with challenges and lots of responsibilities, but at 35 years old I think I can finally handle those! 😉

I am obsessed with mountains

After my trip across the Andes in South America I fell in love with mountainous landscapes. This love was cemented after I spent over a year roaming through the Southern Alps in New Zealand and another year living in the Canadian Rockies. Nowadays I choose my travel destinations based on the hiking opportunities they offer!

marta

Would you like to work with me?

With 10 years of experience in photography and 7 years in blogging I can bring a lot to the table! Below are a few ways we can work together!